Along the Way…

What I've Learned…

Religion and Rights: A Marriage Proposal

ImageI have a proposal to make. It is one I have thought about deeply and with the intention of giving respect to all individuals who feel deeply about this topic, regardless of the side in which they stand. I am talking about marriage equality. I have listened patiently to both sides of this argument and I have come to a conclusion that I think is going to be shocking and controversial. I think that it may upset both sides equally although I have come to this conclusion with the love of both sides in mind.

On one hand, you have people who feel wholeheartedly that gay marriage is against God. There is nothing anyone can say against that without attacking the individual’s core beliefs about their very existence. That is likely not the goal of most people who simply are looking for equality of rights.

On the other hand, there are people who want every person to have the right to be protected by the same laws. There is nothing anyone can say against that without attacking an entire demographic of our population. That is likely not the goal of most people who are simply looking to honor their religion.

I am sure there are other arguments on both sides. My experience has been that these are the primary issues facing the marriage equality debate. So, who is right or wrong here?

It is my opinion that the problem is within the law of marriage itself. Marriage is a part of religion. Therefore I propose anyone’s marriage being recognized by the government is illegal under the separation of church and state.

Because of separation of church and state my conclusion is simple: keep marriage and it’s meaning in the church. Marriage should be between a couple and their chosen place of worship. And, for the protection of all individuals who live together and share property together, regardless of why they do so, they ought to be able to file for a legal union of assets and medical rights. This is a law that could apply to anyone old enough to sign a contract.

I realize that this might upset either side. I know that many people are of the opinion that what is “wrong with this country is we are taking God out of it.” It must be considered that if we take away anyone’s right to religious freedom it is a step closer to your own religious freedom being taken away. The separation of church and state guarantees there will no longer be the religious persecution our forefathers came here to escape.

And I realize that many churches will not recognize all individuals to be eligible for marriage. I do know that some will. I think that some people still won’t see this as equal, but they would be equal in the eyes of their government.

I love all types of people. I am aware that I have hit on an emotional subject for many. I welcome an intelligent discussion on this mater. I request that any comments be respectful of others. I normally would never delete anyone’s comment. I will delete any comment on this post that is attacking or disrespectful. Love one another regardless of different opinions. 

 

4 comments on “Religion and Rights: A Marriage Proposal

  1. Kris Sands
    July 15, 2013

    That was well thought out and reasoned. I agree with you whole-heartedly. However, due to the most narrow minded of us being the loudest, DUCK!

    Love!

  2. Anastasia Hunt
    July 15, 2013

    I think this is one of the most logical responses I’ve seen to this debate.Marriage isn’t the government’s business. A lot of things aren’t the government’s business,,,

  3. Jennifer
    July 15, 2013

    Usually, the fairest compromise angers both sides. I think you have a logical and fair solution that should be adopted.

  4. james
    July 15, 2013

    No debate agree

Leave a Reply

